domingo, 4 de junio de 2017

Collection of early Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (OMD) live 79 / 80 (Flac)

Formed in Liverpool with Paul Humphreys (synthesizers) and Andy McCluskey (vocals and bass guitar). They played their first gig in 1978 at Eric's (Liverpool), then had a run of UK chart hits after swapping labels from Factory to the Virgin owned label DinDisc starting with the 1980 release 'Messages'.
Although Humphreys left the group in 1989, McCluskey made a comeback in 1991 with the UK top 5 'Sailing On The Seven Seas', and followed that up with a UK top 3 Album 'Sugar Tax' before finally calling it a day in 1996.
In 2007 they toured together again featuring the classic line-up of Andy McCluskey, Paul Humphreys, Malcolm Holmes and Martin Cooper and released a live-album in 2008: 'OMD Live: Architecture & Morality & More'. September 2010 saw the release of History Of Modern featuring the original classic line-up.


Bunker Soldiers                                                                                                                     
Julia’s Song
Red Frame White Light 
Waiting For The Man

This gig from 1979 is one of the oldest gigs you can get from OMD.

London 79

Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (OMD)
December 8, 1980
Kant Kino, Berlin

Lineage: AUD > ? > FLAC > Adobe Audition > WAV > FLAC

Quality: A (Great Audience Recording)

01. Stanlow
02. Pretending To See The Future
03. Almost
04. Messages
05. Annex
06. Mystereality
07. Julia's Song
08. Motion And Heart
09. The More I See You
10. Promise
11. Statues
12. The Misunderstanding (cut)
13. Dancing
14. Red Frame/White Light
15. Electricity
16. Bunker Soldiers
17. Enola Gay
18. Waiting For The Man
19. Electricity
20. Julia's Song
21.  Enola Gay

This is my favorite OMD recording (in terms of performance and sound quality) and want to share the version I edited. The original version I obtained from, although it sounded good, suffered of clipping. I tweaked this and other things. This is listed ad August 12, 1980 on but I think it's from December as on December 10 and 12 they played on the Netherlands. In the site, the date is marked 1980-12-00.

The band:

Andy McCluskey: bass, vocals
Paul Humphreys: keyboards, vocals
Malcolm Holmes: drums
Martin Cooper: keyboards (The page says that Dave Hughes left on November, being replaced by Martin Cooper)

Added a not so good edit for the track "The Misunderstanding", adding the missing bit from a version live on 1981-04-24 The Concert Hall, Toronto.


80 Berlin

1980-12-12 orchestral manoeuvres in the dark,
rijswijk, the netherlands  FM

On December 12th 1980, Orchestral Manouevres In The Dark played a live gig in Rijswijk, The Netherlands which was recorded and , later on, broadcasted by KRO Radio.

setlist :

1 Julia's Song
2 Motion and Heart
3 Red Frame - White Light
4 Electricity
5 Bunker Soldiers
6 Enola Gay
7 Waiting For My Man (Velvet Underground)

FM > TDK SA90 cassette > Audacity > CD Wave Editor > FLAC


80 Netherlands

password for all releases is : savecueandlog

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario